Techno from Melbourne and beyond.

Ben Klock’s Klockworks has become an absolute staple for modern techno, and for its very special 20th release Klock has curated a 20 strong compilation of tracks representative of the label’s past, present, and future. The collection involves work from all Klockworks artists, including himself, the final oeuvre from the late Trevino, some up-and-coming acts, and even artists that have never released before.

Each artist has delivered a single effort to assemble a cohesive compilation that plays as an album, not only centred around dancefloors, but also ranging across deep atmospheres, left-field, as well as acid and house. 

Kicking things off, Etapp Kyle and DVS1 deliver tracks that perfectly explicate their diverse talents, while Heiko Laux and ROD go outside the box to contribute dream-like melodies. Steve Rachmad, under his more techno-centric alias Sterac, and Jay Clarke, both present a hypnotic intensity. This effort from Jay Clarke is reminiscent of his brilliant work on Klockworks 18. Trevino’s legacy remains with us alongside his stunning track Sombre Tones – of which Ben Klock has been using to open each of his Photon sets. 

Dax J, one of techno’s current rising stars is included as a new face to the label, as well as Jon Hester, Troy, Ritzi Lee, Reus, High Position, Yoikoi, and Adam Craft. Newa, a female artist joining the roster from Tbilisi who will be returning to the label in the near future, and Vincent, having the honour of delivering the closing track, finishes the impressive compilation off with an unmistakeable house jam to illuminate any dance floor. A memorable way to close out a memorable selection of tracks.

The three double-EP package is due for release by the end of September, and includes artwork created by Ben Klock. The bundle package is only available via the Klockworks website.