Techno from Melbourne and beyond.

The Empire Line present six cyclonic episodes for confined spaces on their debut album, Rave. The group, comprised of Posh Isolation’s Christian Stadgaard (Damien Dubrovnik, Vanity Productions), Jonas Rönnberg (Varg), and Isak Hansen (Iron Sight), has now transformed their marauding live shows into a slippery set of pummeling techno works, watermarked with florid noise.

Rave is a celebration of contemporary rave culture, focused on the everlasting and transcendent, as the night slips out past the day. With living-for-the-weeken hedonism irretrievably converted into a manicured, violent cliché, building new worlds and forging new modes of intimacy takes an exceptional sincerity.

Naming some of the crews closest to The Empire Line in the album’s titles, their spaces are examples of just how rave culture persists as a transgressive stronghold in people’s lives. 

Ranging from k-hole anthems to jacking, close-range sessions, Rave still bears the traces of the group’s experimental backgroun, ensuring the tension is kept up through the catharsis. 

Listen to a cut from the album below, titled Fast Forward, with Varg’s signature skittish and shakey synths,as well as Christian Stadgaard and Isak Hansen’s noise production and terrorising vocals, combining together in a perfect harmony for the dancefloor. 

Rave is set for release on February 19th 2018 on Northern Electronics, and will be available in 12″ and digital forms.