Techno from Melbourne and beyond.

Token Records has announced a collaborative compilation album to celebrate their 10 year anniversary, filled with productions by longstanding and well-respected artists from the label’s roster. 

Over the last 10 years, Token Records has grown steadily, both in size and stylistic breadth. The aptly-titled Momentum comes as a celebration of the close-knit family of artists amassed throughout the label’s running. The record is a fitting collaborative project, showcasing the specific sound of the label that has been developed through 10 years of careful curation, whilst simultaneously bringing out the individual identities of the artists involved. 

Inigo Kennedy’s involvement in Token has been profoundly influential and spans its very existence, with three collaborative tracks on the record, its easy to hear his trademark cinematic sound throughout. One such offering, Amalgam, is co-produced by label head Kr!z, which is a first step for the founder into releasing his own music after years of focusing on DJing while keeping the label ticking over. 

Token’s identity has been clarified through its curation over the years as each new artist has joined the label family. Ø [Phase] has been a staple of since 2007, providing cerebral sustenance for the most discerning of listeners. His pulsatic, mesmerising product on this record is as timeless as it was on his first two successful albums for the label, which pushed its accessibility to a larger audience.

Rødhad’s trademark composure is also apparent on the record, through Bloom and Detonation Vertex, showcasing once again that no-holds-barred outlook on techno. Although his Spomeniks release was a step aside from his own on-going Dystopian project, he has remained an important member of the Token Collective. 

Ctrls also features on the record, and has been a Token affiliate from early in his career – releasing nine solo EPs to date. His class of jarring, inorganic techno adds an atypical feel to the label’s output, and stands equally as strong on his three contributions to the record, Dropout, The Hardest Part, and Comets

Oscar Mulero, Tadeo, and Sigha round out the stacked lineup of the 10 year anniversary compilation, with their Detroit-leaning, avant-garde and firm expressions of complex techno sounding out across its duration. 

Momentum is set for release on December 1st and will be available in digital as well as 3×12″ vinyl forms via Token Records. View the full tracklist below.

A1: Rødhåd & Sigha – Bloom
A2: Ø [Phase] & Rødhåd – Detonation Vertex
B: Antigone & Ø [Phase] – Icosahedron Flood
C: Inigo Kennedy & Kr!z – Amalgam
D1: Tadeo & Ctrls – Dropout
D2: Ctrls & Antigone – The Hardest Part
E1: Kr!z & Crtls – Comets
E2: Inigo Kennedy & Sigha – Minor Ascent
F: Oscar Mulero & Inigo Kennedy – Catharsis